Managing visibility/ access to notebook pages

Introduction

There are several setting that let you control who can view your notebooks and pages as well as where your pages appear.  

  • Notebook level access: "Locked" or "Unlocked"
  • Page level access: "Private" or "Public"
  • Page visibility: "Hidden" or "Visible"

Each setting is described below.

Locked vs. Unlocked status

You can limit access to your notebook to designated collaborators only.

To do so, you will need to set your notebook's access to "Locked".

1. Go to the Shareist Dashboard.
2. Select a notebook from the "My Notebooks" dropdown in the top bar.
3. Go to Settings > Notebook Settings in the notebook menu.
4. Set the notebook as "Locked".
5. Click the "Save" button.

Your notebook is now inaccessible to anyone who hasn't been invited as a collaborator, including search engines.

Public vs. Private

You can set each page of your notebook as "Private" or "Public".  

Unlocked Notebook: If your notebook is set as "Unlocked" and a given page is set to "Public", anyone will be able to see this page and it will appear when a user scrolls through your notebook and in the navigation.

If a page is set to "Private", only collaborators will see this page. Other users will not see this page when scrolling through the notebook or within the navigation.

Locked Notebook: If your notebook is set as "Locked" and a given page is set to "Public", only collaborators will be able to see this page.  

If the page is set to "Private", only collaborators designated as "Managers" and "Editors" will be able to view this page.

 

Hidden vs. Visible

You may set a given page of your notebook to "Hidden".  Hidden pages won't show up on the homepage or category pages. They also won't appear when you browse a notebook using the prev/next arrows.

"Hidden" pages are useful if you want to create an "About" page or a "Terms of service" page and want to  link to them from the navigation.

Add comment

Signin or Signup to comment